Home   |   Leave This Site Quickly   |   A A A

Facebook Twitter Facebook - White Ribbon Day

Stay Informed

Sign up here to receive electronic alerts and updates. Subscribe Now!

Read our latest newsletter: February 2017.


"Jane Doe Inc. keeps us grounded in the current policy developments, information, and emerging topics in domestic and sexual violence. Through their system change work and government relations, they rise our voice and share survivors’ concerns and needs. I can’t imagine leading a local agency without the support and expertise that I receive as a member of JDI. " ~ Marianne Winters - Executive Director at Safe Passage Inc.

Mintz Attorneys and Firm receive Timilty Advocate for Justice Award

For immediate release                                                                                              Contact:
April 9, 2013                                                                               Toni K. Troop, Jane Doe Inc.
                                                                                       617-212-7571, ttroop@janedoe.org

                                                                                                          Gina Addis, Mintz Levin
                                                                                           617-348-4413, GAddis@mintz.com


To Receive First Annual Kelly Timilty Advocate for Justice Award

Jane Doe Inc. is pleased to announce that Susan M.  Finegan and Peter Biagetti, Members of  the law firm of Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C., will receive the inaugural Kelly Timilty Advocate for Justice Award.  Ms. Finegan and Mr. Biagetti, along with the law firm, will be honored at the Kelly Timilty “It’s Your Business Breakfast” on Thursday, May 16th at the Algonquin Club in Boston.

The Kelly Timilty Advocate for Justice Award was created in memory of former Governor’s Council member Kelly Timilty.  The award, a collaboration between Jane Doe Inc. (JDI) and the Timilty family, is meant to highlight what is possible when people act as advocates for social justice.

Jane Doe Inc. (JDI) Executive Director Mary R. Lauby said it was an easy decision for the board of directors to choose Peter Biagetti, Susan Finegan and Mintz Levin as the recipients of the first Timilty Advocate for Justice Award.   She stated, “The impact of the exemplary leadership of Sue, Peter and Mintz Levin simply cannot be overstated.  Their contributions individually and collectively have literally saved thousands of lives.   They do not leave any stone unturned in the pursuit of justice when a sexual or domestic violence program or victim is in need of help.”

Joining the Timilty family will be sponsors from BNY Mellon, P.I. Garden Fund, The TJX Companies, and Verizon, along with Massachusetts business and civic leaders.

Lauby added, “Sue, Peter and dozens of other individuals throughout the firm, through their wise counsel, partnership and collaboration with Jane Doe Inc. and local sexual and domestic violence programs in Massachusetts.  Nationally, Mintz Levin played a key role in fostering the evolution of a national movement of state coalitions through the hosting of NNEDV from its earliest years as a national coalition of coalitions. The most recent struggles to reauthorize VAWA underscore the importance of the existence of this national network that represents more than 2,000 local programs across 50 states and 56 territories with relationships with every member of Congress is clear.”  

“We are honored to receive the inaugural Kelly Timilty award,” said Ms. Finegan, Chair of the firm’s Pro Bono Committee and a Member in the firm’s Litigation Practice. “Working hand-in-hand with advocates like Jane Doe we have the ability to make a difference in the lives of people across Massachusetts and beyond.”

“It is this kind of collaboration that can bring about real and sustained change and we look forward to continuing to work with Jane Doe and others to advocate for those affected by sexual assault and domestic violence,” added Mr. Biagetti, also a Member in Mintz Levin’s Litigation Practice. 

Tables and individual tickets for the breakfast can be reserved at www.janedoe.org/iybb2013 or by calling (617)248-0922.



* Started by two first-year associates in 1989, the Domestic Violence Project has since become Mintz Levin’s signature pro bono initiative.  Through the years, over six hundred attorneys, paraprofessionals and other Mintz staff in five of the firm’s eight offices have represented individual survivors.  In addition, each year, employees perform community service, raise money for organizations focused on serving domestic violence survivors, and dedicate countless hours of other volunteer time, including serving on boards of JDI member programs.  (Two attorneys are current chairs of the Board: Megan Gates at Casa Myrna and Maryann Civitello at Elizabeth Stone House).

 * Provided critical early support and partner in formation of the several coalitions in support of combatting domestic violence, such as the National Network to End Domestic Violence and, in Massachusetts, Employer Against Domestic Violence. 

* Served as legal counsel for Jane Doe Inc. and over twenty-five other nonprofits devoted to combating domestic violence and sexual assault. 

* Served as legal partner in successful drafting and advocacy of Massachusetts’ legislative reforms as well as amicus and appellate briefs on legal issues in federal and state courts on issues relating to domestic violence and sexual assault.

* Mintz Levin has received numerous awards for its domestic violence/sexual assault pro bono and community service work, including the American Bar Association’s Pro Bono Publico Award, the Boston Bar Association’s Thurgood Marshall Award, and the San Diego County Bar Association’s Award for Public Service.

Home | Find Help | Learn More | How You Can Help | Who We Are
Donate | What's Happening | What We Do | Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 Jane Doe Inc.

Español | Português | 普通话

JDI Law Firm Partner JDI Communications Partner

Mintz Levin Verizon

Our Affiliations

NNEDV NAESV Community Works